Monday, 30 December 2019

Most Anticipated of 2020

The promise of the future is approaching us, not just in the form of a new year, but also an entirely new decade. There's much potential for the inaugural year of the 2020's, so let's see which features I'm most anticipating over the next 12 months.

Thursday, 26 December 2019

The Personal History of David Copperfield (2020)

The Personal History of David Copperfield poster.jpgDirector: Armando Iannucci
Running Time: 119 Minutes
Rating: PG
Starring: Dev Patel, Tilda Swinton, Hugh Laurie, Peter Capaldi, Ben Whishaw, Paul Whitehouse, Aneurin Barnard, Rosalind Eleazar, Daisy May Cooper, Morfydd Clark, Benedict Wong, Gwendoline Christie, Anthony Welsh, Nikki Amuka-Bird

Monday, 23 December 2019

Cats (2019)

Cats 2019 poster.jpgDirector: Tom Hooper
Running Time: 110 Minutes
Rating: U
Starring: James Corden, Judi Dench, Jason Derulo, Idris Elba, Jennifer Hudson, Ian McKellen, Taylor Swift, Rebel Wilson, Francesca Hayward

Saturday, 14 December 2019

November 2019 In Review

As we get closer to the years end, my viewings of 2019 films has ramped up. This has also allowed me to extend my reviews onto another site, as I now contribute film reviews to FlyFidelity. But enough waffle, let's see what films I viewed over this past November.

Wednesday, 11 December 2019

Frozen II (2019)

Frozen 2 poster.jpgDirector: Chris Buck, Jennifer Lee
Running Time: 103 Minutes
Rating: U
Starring: Kristen Bell, Idina Menzel, Josh Gad, Jonathan Groff, Sterling K. Brown, Evan Rachel Wood, Alfred Molina, Martha Plimpton, Jason Ritter, Rachel Matthews, Jeremy Sisto, Ciarán Hinds

Friday, 6 December 2019

Midway (2019)

Midway Movie HD Poster.jpegDirector: Roland Emmerich
Running Time: 138 Minutes
Rating: 12a
Starring: Ed Skrein, Patrick Wilson, Woody Harrelson, Luke Evans, Mandy Moore, Luke Kleintank, Dennis Quaid, Aaron Eckhart, Keean Johnson, Nick Jonas, Etsushi Toyokawa, Tadanobu Asano, Darren Criss, Nobuya Shimamoto, Jake Weber, Brennan Brown, Alexander Ludwig

Sunday, 24 November 2019

Honeyland (2019)

Honeyland (2019 film).jpgDirector: Tamara Kotevska, Ljubomir Stefanov
Running Time: 87 Minutes
Rating: 12a
Starring: Hatidzhe Muratova, Nazife Muratova, Hussein Sam, Ljutvie Sam

Last Christmas (2019)

Last Christmas poster.jpegDirector: Paul Feig
Running Time: 103 Minutes
Rating: 12a
Starring: Emilia Clarke, Henry Golding, Michelle Yeoh, Emma Thompson, Rebecca Root, Boris Isakovic, Lydia Leonard, Patti LuPone, Ingrid Oliver, Laura Evelyn, Peter Mygind, Rob Delaney, Peter Serafinowicz, Sue Perkins

Monday, 18 November 2019

Zombieland: Double Tap (2019)

Zombieland Double Tap teaser poster.jpgDirector: Ruben Fleischer
Running Time: 99 Minutes
Rating: 15
Starring: Woody Harrelson, Jesse Eisenberg, Emma Stone, Abigail Breslin, Rosario Dawson, Zoey Deutch, Avan Jogia, Luke Wilson, Thomas Middleditch

Wednesday, 13 November 2019

Taika Waititi's Boy (2010): Have Not Seen This, Episode 9

Yep, I did another podcast episode. I appeared on the wonderful Have Not Seen This to discuss one of my favourite films, Taika Waititi's 2010 film, Boy.

Boy2010movieposter.jpg

Before he made films about Asgardians, Vampires, and Wilderpeople, Waititi made this comedy-drama about a boy discovering his father isn't the same person he imagined him to be. I'm grateful to be able to speak about this wonderful little film, on this wonderful little podcast.

Be sure to follow the show on Twitter and Facebook. Feedback can be sent to havenotseenthis@gmail.com.

If you would like to be a future guest on the show, you can do so by filling out the form at havenotseenthis.podbean.com

Tuesday, 12 November 2019

Ready Or Not (2019)

Ready or Not 2019 film poster.jpgDirector: Matt Bettinelli-Olpin, Tyler Gillett
Running Time: 95 Minutes
Rating: 18
Starring: Samara Weaving, Adam Brody, Mark O'Brien, Henry Czerny, Andie MacDowell, Nicky Guadagni, Melanie Scrofano, Elyse Levesque, Kristian Bruun, John Ralston, Ethan Tavares, Liam MacDonald

Sunday, 10 November 2019

October 2019 In Review

October is a spooky time, so it allowed me an excuse to binge on horror films. And what's more scary than the sight of Arnold Schwarzenegger pregnant? Here are the films I saw over the past October.

Tuesday, 5 November 2019

Arnold Schwarzenegger Hopes You Don’t Recall Junior – Double Edged Double Bill, Episode 79

In time for Arnold Schwarzenegger returning to the franchise which made him a star, in Terminator Dark Fate, I returned to talk on the Double Edged Double Bill podcast. The great chaps Adam Thomas and Thomas Mariani invited me to discuss two films of the former Mister Universe, and Governor of California. The choices were Paul Verhoeven's combination of smart sci-fi and bloody action, Total Recall, and the nightmarish and icky "comedy" that is Junior.


Total recall.jpgJuniorposter.jpg


There were many bad accents attempted, interesting discussions about the films, and I encourage you all to give these guys a listen. You can do so by clicking the link here, or wherever you usually listen to podcasts. Be sure to follow these chaps on Twitter @DEDBpod, on their Facebook page, and send feedback to doubleedgeddoublebill@gmail.com! If you like the show, be sure to rate them and subscribe, and we'll see you at the party, Richter.

Wednesday, 30 October 2019

The Fear of God: 25 Years of The Exorcist (1998)

Director: Mark Kermode
Running Time: 77 Minutes
Starring: Mark Kermode, William Friedkin, Ellen Burstyn. William O'Malley, William Peter Blatty, Max von Sydow, Linda Blair, Thomas Bermingham, Jason Miller, Terence A. Donnelly, Bill Malley, Joe Hyams

Monday, 28 October 2019

Official Secrets (2019)

Official Secrets poster.jpgDirector: Gavin Hood
Running Time: 112 Minutes
Rating: 15
Starring: Keira Knightley, Matt Smith, Matthew Goode, Rhys Ifans, Adam Bakri, Indira Varma, Ralph Fiennes, Conleth Hill, Tamsin Greig, Hattie Morahan, Ray Panthaki

Don't Turn Around (2019)

Director: Christopher T. Wood
Running Time: 4 Minutes
Starring: Paul Haitkin, Cheryl Bricker

Sunday, 27 October 2019

Gemini Man (2019)

GeminiManPoster.jpegDirector: Ang Lee
Running Time: 117 Minutes
Rating: 12a
Starring: Will Smith, Mary Elizabeth Winstead, Clive Owen, Benedict Wong, Ralph Brown, Linda Emond, Theodora Miranne, Douglas Hodge, Illa Volok, E. J. Bonilla

Monday, 21 October 2019

Hustlers (2019)

Hustlers (Official Film Poster).pngDirector: Lorene Scafaria
Running Time: 110 Minutes
Rating: 15
Starring: Constance Wu, Jennifer Lopez, Julia Stiles, Keke Palmer, Lili Reinhart, Lizzo, Cardi B, Mercedes Ruehl, Trace Lysette, Wai Ching Ho, Mette Towle, Madeline Brewer, Frank Whaley

A Shaun The Sheep Movie: Farmageddon (2019)

Shaun the Sheep Movie - Farmageddon.jpgDirector: Will Belcher, Richard Phelan
Running Time: 87 Minutes
Rating: U
Starring: Justin Fletcher, John Sparkes, Amalia Vitale, Kate Harbour, David Holt, Richard Webber, Simon Greenall, Emma Tate, Andy Nyman, Chris Morrell, Joe Sugg

Monday, 14 October 2019

El Camino: A Breaking Bad Movie (2019)

El camino bb film poster.jpgDirector: Vince Gilligan
Running Time: 122 Minutes
Rating: 15
Starring: Aaron Paul, Charles Baker, Matt Jones, Scott MacArthur, Scott Shepherd, Tom Bower, Larry Hankin

Thursday, 10 October 2019

The Day Shall Come (2019)

The Day Shall Come poster.jpgDirector: Chris Morris
Running Time: 88 Minutes
Rating: 15
Starring: Marchánt Davis, Anna Kendrick, Danielle Brooks, Denis O'Hare, Jim Gaffigan, Miles Robbins, Pej Vahdat, Adam David Thompson, Kayvan Novak, Mousa Kraish, James Adomian, Malcolm Mays

September 2019 In Review

September. A month involving Keanu Reeves, Kurosawa, and Clowns (not in the same film, unfortunately). It was also a great month to see how great cinema has been over this past year. So, let's see the films I saw this past month.

Monday, 7 October 2019

The Farewell (2019)

The Farewell poster.jpgDirector: Lulu Wang
Running Time: 100 Minutes
Rating: PG
Starring: Awkwafina, Tzi Ma, Diana Lin, Zhao Shuzhen, Lu Hong, Jiang Yongbo, Chen Han, Aoi Mizuhara, Li Xiang

Sunday, 6 October 2019

Joker (2019)

Joker (2019 film) poster.jpgDirector: Todd Phillips
Running Time: 122 Minutes
Rating: 15
Starring: Joaquin Phoenix, Robert De Niro, Zazie Beetz, Francis Conroy, Brett Cullen, Glenn Fleshler, Bill Camp, Shea Whigham, Marc Maron, Douglas Hodge, Dante Pereira-Olson

Sunday, 29 September 2019

Offensive (2016)

Director: Jonathan Ford
Running Time: 105 Minutes
Rating: 18
Starring: Russell Floyd, Lisa Eichhorn, Fred Adenis, Timothy Morand, Angela Dixon, Etienne Fouillade, Anaïs Parello, Patrice Ortega, Peter Lamarque

Sunday, 22 September 2019

Rambo: Last Blood (2019)

Rambo - Last Blood official theatrical poster.jpgDirector: Adrian Grunberg
Running Time: 89 Minutes
Rating: 18
Starring: Sylvester Stallone, Paz Vega, Sergio Peris-Mencheta, Adriana Barraza, Yvette Monreal, Genie Kim aka Yenah Han, Joaquín Cosío, Óscar Jaenada

It Chapter Two (2019)

Director: Andy Muschietti
Running Time: 169 Minutes
Rating: 15
Starring: Jessica Chastain, James McAvoy, Bill Hader, Isaiah Mustafa, Jay Ryan, James Ransone, Andy Bean, Bill Skarsgård, Sophia Lillis, Jaeden Martell, Finn Wolfhard, Chosen Jacobs, Jeremy Ray Taylor, Jack Dylan Glazer, Wyatt Oleff, Javier Botet, Nicholas Hamilton, Teach Grant

Tuesday, 17 September 2019

Harpoon (2019)

Director: Rob Grant
Running Time: 83 Minutes
Rating: 18
Starring: Brett Gelman, Munro Chambers, Emily Tyra, Christopher Gray

Monday, 16 September 2019

Tigers Are Not Afraid (2019)

Tigers Are Not Afraid.jpgDirector: Issa López
Running Time: 83 Minutes
Starring: Paola Lara, Juan Ramón López, Hanssel Casillas, Rodrigo Cortes, Ianis Guerrero, Tenoch Huerta

Saturday, 7 September 2019

August 2019 In Review

August has left us, and I ventured to watch an array of films. But my month was mainly taken up by my first trip to Frightfest, an annual horror festival which allowed me to view a variety of upcoming genre films, while surrounded by welcoming and friendly people. So, without further ado, let's see what I viewed this past August.

Tuesday, 3 September 2019

The Perished (2019)

Director: Paddy Murphy
Running Time: 90 Minutes
Starring: Courtney McKeon, Paul Fitzgerald, Fiach Kunz, Lisa Tyrell, Conor Lambert, Noelle Clarke, Oisin Robbins, Stephen Tubridy, Tim Hourigan, Phoebe Murphy

Wednesday, 28 August 2019

The Barge People (2019)

Director: Charlie Steeds
Running Time: 78 Minutes
Starring: Kate Davies-Speak, Mark McKirdy, Makenna Guyler, Natalie Martins, Matt Swales, Kane Surry, Emma Spurgin Hussey, Tim Cartwright, Carl Andersson, David Lenik, Barrington De La Roche, Sam Lane, Harrison Nash

Sunday, 18 August 2019

Dora and The Lost City of Gold (2019)

Dora and the Lost City of Gold poster.jpgDirector: James Bobin
Running Time: 102 Minutes
Starring: Isabela Moner, Eugenio Derbez, Michael Peña, Eva Longoria, Jeff Wahlberg, Nicholas Coombe, Madeleine Madden, Temuera Morrison, Adriana Barraza, Pia Miller, Madelyn Miranda, Malachi Barton

Playmobil: The Movie (2019)

Playmobil2019Teaser.jpgDirector: Lino DiSalvo
Running Time: 99 Minutes
Starring: Anya Taylor-Joy, Gabriel Bateman, Jim Gaffigan, Daniel Radcliffe, Meghan Trainor, Adam Lambert, Kenan Thompson, Wendi McLendon-Covey, Lino DiSalvo, Kirk Thornton, Paloma Michelle

Tales From The Crypt: Demon Knight (1995)

Tales from the crypt presents demon knight.jpgDirector: Ernest Dickerson
Running Time: 92 Minutes
Starring: Billy Zane, William Sadler, Jada Pinkett, Thomas Haden Church, C. C. H. Pounder, John Kassir, Brenda Bakke, Dick Miller, Gary Farmer, Ryan O'Donohue, Charles Fleischer, John Schuck

Saturday, 17 August 2019

Good Boys (2019)

Good Boys Movie Poster.jpgDirector: Gene Stupnitsky
Running Time: 89 Minutes
Starring: Jacob Tremblay, Brady Noon, Keith L. Williams, Will Forte, Molly Gordon, Midori Francis, Josh Caras, Christian Darrel Scott, Lil Rel Howery, Sam Richardson, Retta, Millie Davis, Chance Hurtsfield, Izaac Wang

Wednesday, 14 August 2019

Fast & Furious: Hobbs & Shaw (2019)

Fast & Furious Presents Hobbs & Shaw - theatrical poster.jpgDirector: David Leitch
Running Time: 135 Minutes
Starring: Dwayne Johnson, Jason Statham, Idris Elba, Vanessa Kirby, Helen Mirren, Eiza González, Eddie Marsan, Cliff Curtis, Leati Anoa'i, Josh Mauga, John Tui

Thursday, 8 August 2019

July 2019 In Review

July has flown by, and we get ever closer to the years end. This month saw many excursions into the contrasts of Disney and horror, especially involving one Freddy Krueger. So, let's get into what films I viewed this past July.

Annabelle Comes Home (2019)

AnnabelleComesHomePoster.jpgDirector: Gary Dauberman
Running Time: 106 Minutes
Starring: Mckenna Grace, Madison Iseman, Katie Sarife, Patrick Wilson, Vera Farmiga, Michael Cimino, Paul Dean, Steve Coulter, Luca Luhan, Anthony Wemmys

Wednesday, 31 July 2019

A Nightmare On Elm Street 3: Dream Warriors (1987)

Large head of burnt man with hat floating in clouds, five blades stretch out from the clouds, four people facing the clouds stand on four the of five blades. There is road leading to a house below the sky.Director: Chuck Russell
Running Time: 96 Minutes
Starring: Heather Langenkamp, Craig Wasson, Robert Englund, Patricia Arquette, Ken Sagoes, Rodney Eastman, Jennifer Rubin, Larry Fishburne, Bradley Gregg, Ira Heiden, Penelope Sudrow, Nan Martin, John Saxon, Priscilla Pointer

Wednesday, 24 July 2019

The Lion King (2019)

Disney The Lion King 2019.jpgDirector: Jon Favreau
Running Time: 118 Minutes
Starring: Donald Glover, Seth Rogen, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Alfre Woodard, Billy Eichner, John Kani, John Oliver, Beyoncé Knowles-Carter, James Earl Jones, JD McCrary, Shahadi Wright Joseph, Florence Kasumba, Keegan-Michael Key, Eric Andre, Penny Johnson Jerald

Sunday, 14 July 2019

June 2019 In Review

Half the year has passed us by now, and I hope you're all enjoying what's come about so far this year. For me, this past month was taken up by Disney quite a bit. But enough preamble, let's see what films I viewed over this past June.

Tuesday, 9 July 2019

The Queen's Corgi (2019)

The Queen's Corgi Teaser Poster.jpgDirector: Ben Stassen, Vincent Kesteloot
Running Time: 85 Minutes
Starring: Jack Whitehall, Julie Walters, Sheridan Smith, Ray Winstone, Matt Lucas, Tom Courtenay, Anthony Skordi, Colin MacFarlane, Ian McKee, Jon Culshaw, Debra Stephenson

Aladdin (2019)

Aladdin (Official 2019 Film Poster).pngDirector: Guy Ritchie
Running Time: 128 Minutes
Starring: Will Smith, Mena Massoud, Naomi Scott, Marwan Kenzari, Navid Negahban, Nasim Pedrad, Billy Magnussen, Numan Acar, Alan Tudyk, Frank Welker

Monday, 8 July 2019

Spider-Man: Far From Home (2019)

Spider-Man Far From Home poster.jpgDirector: Jon Watts
Running Time: 129 Minutes
Starring: Tom Holland, Samuel L. Jackson, Zendaya, Cobie Smulders, Jon Favreau, J.B. Smoove, Jacob Batalon, Martin Starr, Marisa Tomei, Jake Gyllenhaal, Tony Revolori, Angourie Rice, Numan Acar, Remy Hill

Saturday, 6 July 2019

2019 - The Year So Far

We've made it halfway through 2019 so far (good going, everyone), and we have so many great things yet to be released for us to watch. We've also had a great selection of films already come out, so let's see how this year has fared for me so far. Let's take a look at the what, in my personal opinion, are the 10 Best, and Worst, films released from January to June so far.

Wednesday, 3 July 2019

Toy Story 4 (2019)

Toy Story 4 poster.jpgDirector: Josh Cooley
Running Time: 100 Minutes
Starring: Tom Hanks, Tim Allen, Annie Potts, Tony Hale, Keegan-Michael Key, Jordan Peele, Madeline McGraw, Christina Hendricks, Keanu Reeves, Ally Maki, Jay Hernandez, Lori Alan, Joan Cusack, Bonnie Hunt, Kristen Schaal, Emily Davis, Wallace Shawn, John Ratzenberger, Blake Clark, June Squibb, Carl Weathers, Don Rickles, Estelle Harris, Jeff Garlin, Timothy Dalton, Jeff Pidgeon

Friday, 21 June 2019

Men In Black: International (2019)

Men In Black InternationalDirector: F. Gary Gray
Running Time: 115 Minutes
Starring: Chris Hemsworth, Tessa Thompson, Kumail Nanjiani, Rafe Spall, Rebecca Ferguson, Les Twins, Emma Thompson, Liam Neeson, Kayvan Novak

Tuesday, 18 June 2019

Pixar Presents Up Yours, Good Dinosaur – Double Edged Double Bill, Episode 59

So, I did my first ever podcast. It was a fun experience, all thanks to Adam Thomas and Thomas Mariani, the great guys who host the Double Edged Double Bill podcast. With the impending release of Toy Story 4, we talked on the subject of Pixar films, the choices being the emotionally devastating Up, and the sight of Fischer Price toys tripping balls, found in The Good Dinosaur.


A house is floating in the air, lifted by balloons. A dog, a boy and an old man hang beneath on a garden hose. "UP!" is written in the top right corner.The silhouette of a dinosaur (apatosaurus) with a small boy on his back surrounded by stars


These guys let me awkwardly chime in, do bad impressions, and attempt film discussions. Please give them a listen right here, or wherever you usually listen to podcasts. They're worth it. Be sure to follow these chaps on Twitter @DEDBpod, on their Facebook page, and send feedback to doubleedgeddoublebill@gmail.com! If you like the show, be sure to rate them and subscribe.

Saturday, 15 June 2019

Godzilla: King of the Monsters (2019)

Godzilla – King of the Monsters (2019) poster.pngDirector: Michael Dougherty
Running Time: 132 Minutes
Starring: Kyle Chandler, Vera Farmiga, Millie Bobby Brown, Bradley Whitford, Sally Hawkins, Charles Dance, Thomas Middleditch, Aisha Hinds, O'Shea Jackson Jr, David Strathairn, Ken Watanabe, Zhang Ziyi, Joe Morton, CCH Pounder, Anthony Ramos Elizabeth Ludlow, Jonathan Howard

Tuesday, 11 June 2019

May 2019 In Review

May is behind us, and the first half of the year is nearly following it. So, let's have a look at what films I watched over this past month.

Sunday, 9 June 2019

X-Men: Dark Phoenix (2019)

Dark Phoenix (film).pngDirector: Simon Kinberg
Running Time: 114 Minutes
Starring: James McAvoy, Michael Fassbender, Jennifer Lawrence, Nicholas Hoult, Sophie Turner, Tye Sheridan, Alexandra Shipp, Kodi Smith-McPhee, Evan Peters, Jessica Chastain, Kota Eberhardt, Andrew Stehlin, Brian d'Arcy James, Scott Shepherd, Hannah Anderson

Thursday, 6 June 2019

Katalin Varga (2009)


Katalin Varga PosterDirector: Peter Strickland
Running Time: 82 Minutes
Starring: Hilda Péter, Norbert Tankó, László Mátray, Roberto Giacomello, Tibor Pálffy, Melinda Kántor, Sebastian Marina

Monday, 27 May 2019

Booksmart (2019)

Booksmart (2019 film poster).pngDirector: Olivia Wilde
Running Time: 105 Minutes
Starring: Kaitlyn Dever, Beanie Feldstein, Noah Galvin, Billie Lourd, Skyler Gisondo, Jessica Williams, Jason Sudeikis, Lisa Kudrow, Will Forte, Mike O'Brien, Diana Silvers, Molly Gordon, Mason Gooding, Victoria Ruesga

Wednesday, 22 May 2019

The Hustle (2019)

The Hustle film poster.pngDirector: Chris Addison
Running Time: 94 Minutes
Starring: Anne Hathaway, Rebel Wilson, Alex Sharp, Ingrid Oliver, Emma Davies, Dean Norris, Timothy Simons, Rob Delaney, Tim Blake Nelson

Saturday, 18 May 2019

Pokémon Detective Pikachu (2019)

Pokémon Detective Pikachu teaser poster.jpgDirector: Rob Letterman
Running Time: 104 Minutes
Starring: Ryan Reynolds, Justice Smith, Kathryn Newton, Bill Nighy, Ken Watanabe, Chris Geere, Suki Waterhouse, Omar Chaparro, Rita Ora, Karan Soni, Josette Simon, Ikue Ōtani

Monday, 13 May 2019

A Dog's Journey (2019)

A Dogs Journey Movie Poster Art.jpgDirector: Gail Mancuso
Running Time: 108 Minutes
Starring: Josh Gad, Kathryn Prescott, Dennis Quaid, Marg Helgenberger, Betty Gilpin, Henry Lau, Abby Ryder Fortson, Ian Chen, Emma Volk